Unofficial Local Election Results: Mitchell Wins Vernonia Mayor Race

Vernonia Mayor Josette Mitchell was re-elected for a third two-year term in the November 4, 2014 elections, according to unofficial results released by the Columbia County elections office on Wednesday, November 5th at 5:30 AM.

Mitchell received 406 votes, or 57%, to defeat challenger Sally Harrison who received 260 votes, or 37% of the vote.   There were 42 write-in votes.

Jill Hult and Mike Seager were elected to the Vernonia City Council and were the only two candidates on the ballot.  Hult received 406 votes, or  45%, Seager received 309 votes, or 35%, and there were 180 write-in votes, or 20%.  The top two candidates are elected.

In County election races, incumbent Henry Heimuller retained his seat as County Commissioner, defeating Wayne Mayo for Position 2.  Heimuller received 9,941 votes, or 54%; Mayo received 8,172 votes or 45% of the vote.

Cathleen Callahan was elected as Judge of the Circuit Court, 19th District, defeating Jean Martwick.  Callahan received 9,281 votes, or 54%; Martwick received 7,813 votes, or 45% .

Elizabeth Hauser retained her position as County Clerk, defeating Brady Preheim 76% to 24%.

Election turnout was high in Columbia County, with over 72% of registered voters casting ballots.

In state races, Senator Betsy Johnson (D-16) easily won re-election  receiving 70% of the vote.  Representative Brad Witt (D-31) was also re-elected, receiving 54% of the vote, defeating Republican Larry Eriksen, who received 41% of the vote.

For updated results go to: