Columbia County Passes Jail Funding

Columbia County citizens voted in favor of a tax levy to support funding their county jail in the May 20, 2014 Primary.

In a close vote, Measure 5-238 won by just 296 votes or 1.26%. A total of 11,768 votes were cast.

In other local election news, County Commissioner Henry Heimuller and Wayne Mayo ended their race in a virtual deadlock, with Heimuller outpacing Mayo 5,341 votes to 5,278. There were 92 write in votes meaning neither Heimuller or Mayo received the necessary 50% of the vote to secure election. A run off will take place in November.

In  the two contested judges races, incumbent for Judge of the Circuit Court, Pos. 3 Jenefer Grant easily handled a write-in challenge by Agnus Petersen, winning almost 80% of the vote. In the race for Judge of the Circuit Court, Pos. 1, Jean Martwick received 37.67% of the vote while Cathleen Callahan received 36.39% of the vote. Jason Heym finished third with 24.72 of the vote. A run off will be held in November.

For all election results go to: